Utah law requires every person who serves alcohol in a restaurant, club, bar or tavern, to complete an alcohol training and education within 30 days of employment and re-certify every 3 years. Title 62A-15-401 of the Utah Code requires alcohol servers to complete an Alcohol Certification Course.
Utah Alcohol Server Certification
- Approved and recognized by the Utah Department of Human Services.
Utah Approved Alcohol Server Education Program Provider: (Learn2serve)
- Recognized – by major employers, insurance firms and enforcement
- Trusted – by over 500,000 sellers and servers from the industry
- Interactive – you may actually enjoy learning our engaging material
- Live 24×7 Support – for you night owls, our toll-free live help is always on
The alcohol seller-server training course provides the student with the necessary knowledge of laws regarding alcohol service and proven techniques needed to be a responsible seller of alcohol and for providing a safe environment for customers. Specifically, you will learn:
- how to protect yourself and your establishment from liability;
- how alcohol affects your customers;
- how to recognize the effects of alcohol on your customers;
- how to prevent customers from becoming intoxicated;
- how to intervene when you need to refuse a sale to someone;
- how to prevent and deal with disturbances;
- how to accurately check IDs and recognize minors;
- how to prevent second-party sales; and
- how to refuse a sale.
Audience: Employees in establishments that sell and serve alcohol in bars, restaurants, hotels, taverns, night clubs, concessions, banquet halls: bartenders, bar backs, servers and managers.
Credit Hours: 3 hrs
- Lesson 1: Introduction
- Lesson 2: How Alcohol Affects the Body
- Lesson 3: Recognizing Intoxicated Customers
- Lesson 4: Preventing Disturbances
- Lesson 5: Minors and Liability
- Lesson 6: Second-Party Sales
- Lesson 7: How to Refuse a Sale
- Lesson 8: State Laws
End of Course Test & Certificate
At the conclusion of the course, the learner will be tested on their knowledge of the learning objectives and content. Upon successfully passing the exam with a minimum of 70%, the learner will be able to download a course certificate.